September 29, 2017


The Provincial Advisory Council on the Status of Women Newfoundland and Labrador is pleased to host this year’s Coalition of Provincial and Territorial Advisory Councils on the Status of Women annual meeting. During October 2nd and 3rd, executive directors and board chairs of Advisory Councils will convene to discuss issues impacting the status of women. The Coalition is comprised of Advisory Councils from across the country dedicated to advancing women’s issues within their individual regions and who also work together in the interest of women on a national level.

While in St. John’s, the Coalition will meet with members of Stella’s Circle-Just Us Women’s Centre, Thrive CYN’s Blue Door Project and the Coalition Against the Sexual Exploitation of Youth (CASEY).

“We want to use the opportunity of this meeting to highlight some of the excellent work being done by community partners,” commented Linda Ross, Co-chair of the Coalition.  “While there are some differences in the issues individual Advisory Councils are focusing on, many such as domestic violence, sexual exploitation, women with mental health and/or addiction issues and women in the criminal justice system are common to all”.

-Linda Ross, Provincial Advisory Council on the Status of Women NL/Coalition Co-Chair

“Advancing the status of women in Newfoundland and Labrador is a top priority for our government and we are working to ensure social, legal, cultural and economic equality for women in the province. We see tremendous value in the work being done at the community level by groups that advance the economic and social status of women, and prevent violence and  I look forward to meeting with my colleagues from the Coalition to hear their perspectives and to learn from their experiences.”

– The Honourable Siobhan Coady, Minister for the Status of Women

Along with Honourable Siobhan Coady, attending the Coalition meeting will be Mr. Terry Duguid, MP Winnipeg South and Parliamentary Secretary to the Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women Canada.



Linda Ross, Co-Chair                                                       Diana Quinton, Women’s Policy Office                                                       

709-753-7273                                                                   709-729-5282